Cuba To Attend Summit of The Association of Caribbean States


Cuban deputy foreign minister Josefina Vidal is heading the Cuban delegation to the 9th Summit of Heads of State and/or Government of the Association of Caribbean States (ACS), to be held on May 12 in Guatemala.

As reported today by the Cuban embassy to that Central American country, on Twitter, the event will be preceded by the 8th Ordinary Meeting of the ACS Ministerial Council.

“Innovating integration through the sustainable development of the Greater Caribbean” is the motto of the 9th ACS summit, which aims to strengthen friendship ties, cooperation, trade, development, environmental and tourism efforts in the region.

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, México, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.

Since 1994 has sought to integrate countries to create a common economic space, preserve the sea and promote sustainable development, investment and cooperation. (ACN)


Join the Conversation

  1. Are Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands (US and British) invited?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top